August 21, 2014

ZAPPATiKA: We're Not Alone

Anglo-Dutch band ZAPPATiKA recorded a cover of We're Not Alone. Originally released as an instrumental on The Man from Utopia - Frank Zappa had written a few words, but they were never used. They came up with a full set of lyrics themselves. Nice touch to make Stevie (Vai) the protagonist. He was Zappa's resident guitar at that time. Mary of course is named after Mary Lou, the girl that is mentioned in the title of the 1950s song The Man from Utopia Meets Mary Lou.

They stick close to the original musical arrangement. Singer Zap McInnes sounds at ease and relaxed, with high pitched backing vocals that were an instantly recognisable trademark of Zappa's music.

The track was originally released on Rare Episodes - Frank Zappa’s unmined nuggets released on Cordelia Records. The tweaked single version can be bought via Reverbnation.

Well, Stevie isn't dumb,when it comes to the girls,
He'll take his little thumb and he'll give 'em a whirl,
Stevie isn't dumb, he'll take his little thumb,
And you can ride it all night loo-oong!

Now, Mary was a girl with a twist in her mind,
But Stevie didn't care,cuz she made him feel fine,
He had his little thumb,connected to her plum,
You shoulda heard her scream for moo-oore !

She had a hairbrush with a dildo on the end of it ,
She wanted Stevie to go in and out a little bit
But he decided that an even better way to go
Was a banana and the hairbrush going stereo

He took the challenge and he revved them up to warp nine,
She said that he should be a porno-poocher all the time,
Then Stevie giggled and adjusted his bikini shorts
and shifted Mary into Rubber Love and Water sports,

Stevie isn't dumb when it comes to the girls,
He'll take his little thumb and he'll give 'em a whirl
Stevie isn't dumb,he'll take his little thumb,
and you can ride it all night looo--oong!

» ZAPPATiKA on Facebook

The Asteroids Galaxy Tour: "My Club" video

Danish dance pop band The Asteroids Galaxy Tour have released a video for their latest single My Club. The new album Bring Us Together album drops September 15th on their own label Hot Bus Records.

Live dates:
  • O8/31 Zürich Openair, Zürich, Switzerland
  • 10/29 Divan du Monde, Paris, France
  • 10/31 Atomic Cafe, Munich, Germany
  • 11/04 Lucerna Muisc Bar, Prague, Czech Republic
  • 11/05 Proxima, Warsaw, Poland
  • 11/06 Frannz, Berlin, Germany
  • 11/07 Melkweg, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • 11/08 Botanique Rotunde, Brussels, Belgium
  • 11/10 Oslo Hackney, London, UK
  • 11/11 Doornroosje, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  • 11/12 Molotov, Hamburg, Germany
  • 11/13 Stadtgarten, Cologne, Germany
  • 11/14 Jazz House, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 11/15 Atlas, Aarhus, Denmark


HCTF review of Out of Frequency.

August 20, 2014

Living Colour: on tour in North America and Europe

Living Colour
photo: Henry Ruggeri

Groundbreaking rock band Living Colour are on the road in North America and Europe throughout the Summer and Fall.

North America:
  • 08/21 NJPAC Theatre Square, Newark, NJ
  • 09/18 Opera House, Toronto, ON
  • 09/19 Magic Bag, Ferndale, MI
  • 09/20 Park West, Chicago, IL
  • 09/21 Dakota Jazz Club, Minneapolis, MN
  • 09/23 Knuckleheads, Kansas City, MO
  • 09/24 Duck Room at Blueberry Hill, St. Louis, MO
  • 09/26 Summit Music Hall, Denver, CO
  • 09/27 Mesa Theatre, Grand Junction, CO
  • 09/29 Triple Door, Seattle, WA
  • 09/30 Aladdin Theatre ,Portland, OR
  • 10/01 The Independent, San Francisco, CA
  • 10/03 Mystic Theatre, Petaluma, CA
  • 10/04 Roxy Theatre, Los Angeles, CA
  • 10/05 Belly Up Tavern, Solana Beach, CA
  • 10/06 Hard Rock Live, Las Vegas, NV
  • 10/07 Coach House, San Juan Capistrano, CA
  • 10/08 The Rock, Tucson, AZ
  • 10/10 Kessler Theatre, Dallas, TX
  • 10/11 The Belmont, Austin, TX
  • 10/12 Warehouse Live, Houston, TX
  • 10/25 Alhambra, Paris, France
  • 10/26 De Roma, Borgerhout, Belgium
  • 10/28 Islington Assembly Hall, London, UK
  • 10/29 Melkweg, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • 11/05 Gjethuset, Frederiksvaerk, Denmark
  • 11/06 Sticky Fingers, Göteborg, Sweden
  • 11/16 Alte Seilerei, Mannheim, Germany
  • 11/18 Die Kantine, Cologne, Germany
North America:
  • 11/28 Irving Plaza, New York, NY
  • 11/29 Tupelo Music Hall, Londonderry, NH
  • 11/30 Paradise Rock Club, Boston, MA
  • 12/01 World Cafe Live, Philadelphia, PA
  • 12/03 Stafford Palace Theatre, Stafford Springs, CT
  • 12/04 Newton Theatre, Newton, NJ
  • 12/05 Ridgefield Playhouse, Ridgefield, CT
  • 12/06 Tally Ho Theatre, Leesburg, VA
  • 12/07 Maryland Live Casino, Hanover, MD
  • 12/09 City Winery, Nashville, TN
  • 12/10 Cat's Cradle, Carrboro, NC
  • 12/12 Culture Room, Ft. Lauderdale, FL
  • 12/13 State Theatre, St. Petersburg, FL
  • 12/14 The Masquerade, Atlanta, GA


The Persian Leaps: Drive Drive Delay

St. Paul, MN indie noise pop band The Persian Leaps are down to a trio on their new EP Drive Drive Delay. They had to tighten up their sound a bit and The Smiths no longer loom large on heir alternative college rockers.

While retaining their knack for melody Hüsker Du, The Replacements and Dinosaur Jr come to fore in (Goodbye to) South Carolina and Truth = Consequences. Lead single Pretty Boy, with its early REM feel, is a dead ringer for heavy rotation on alternative late night radio.

The Persian Leaps:
Drew Forsberg: vocals, guitar
Brad Hendrickson: bass, vocals, additional guitar on "Pretty Boy"
Mike McCloskey: drums, vocals

Drive Drive Delay, will be released on September 12, 2014 via Land Ski Records.

  1. Fire Starter
  2. Pretty Boy
  3. (Goodbye to) South Carolina
  4. Truth = Consequences
  5. Permission

Live date:
  • 09/06 Popcorn Tavern, La Crosse, WI


HCTF review of Praise Elephants.

John Watss/Fischer-Z: tour dates

John Watss will be on tour in November, playing material from his recent solo album as well as quite a few songs from Fischer Z.

Live dates:
  • 10/09 John Watts/Fischer-Z Solo Set @ For What It's Worth, The Boogaloo, Highgate, London, UK
  • 11/16 Het, Germanypot Leuven, Belgium
  • 11/18 Melkweg, Amsterdam, Th Netherlands
  • 11/19 Freiheiz, München, Germany
  • 11/23 Passionskirche, Berlin, Germany
  • 11/25 Kulturkirche, Koln, Germany